Guide
Zapier and Make partner programs for freelancers
Both Zapier and Make run programs for consultants who build automations for clients. They come with directory listings and, in some cases, referral benefits. They also have entry rules that surprise freelancers who work under a marketplace profile alone. This guide summarizes what each program asked for on the pages we read, and how to prepare.
Short answer
Zapier wants a real business website and an email on your own domain. Make wants proof that you already do automation work for customers, at least one automation expert on the team, and completed partner training. Both change their pages over time, so confirm on the official site before you apply.
Zapier Solution Partner Program
Zapier's page says the program is designed for consultants, agencies and solution providers who help businesses automate workflows. Partners get resources, training and support. The page also mentions a referral benefit, where partners earn commissions for referring net-new customers to Zapier. Zapier's blog says the program was previously known as the Experts Program, and that benefits include partner directory placement, program badges and co-marketing opportunities.
The eligibility list on the page, as we read it:
- An active business website. Zapier says it does not accept applications that rely only on third-party profiles such as LinkedIn, X, Fiverr or similar.
- A professional email on your own domain. Free email services like Gmail, Hotmail or Outlook are not eligible.
- Not residing in or being affiliated with a country under U.S. sanctions.
You do not need a Zapier account to apply, but Zapier says you need one to advance and finish the required training. The page notes that failing any requirement may make an application invalid. It also says applications are typically reviewed within 7 to 21 business days.
Make Solution Partner Program
Make's page says the program is free for qualifying applicants and is aimed at agencies and consultants that specialize in automating business processes on Make. It lists priority support, visibility on Make's website and a referral commission for self-serve and co-selling opportunities. It is separate from Make's affiliate program, which is aimed at influencers and content creators.
Requirements from the FAQ on that page:
- You need at least one automation expert. The page adds that successful partners typically have a team of certified experts and sales people.
- You need experience providing automation services. Make says that is required to sign the partner agreement.
- Partner Training is required. Make Academy is separate and is for customers.
- Certifications assess your team's skill. The page describes three tiers, based on how many projects you handle and how many certified people you have.
Make also says it looks at project success and customer satisfaction, such as clients being pleased, willing to share their experience and renewing subscriptions. Leads from Make go to partners in the Silver, Gold and Platinum tiers, and onboarding can take up to two months. The page does not say how a solo freelancer with a few clients is judged, so ask before you assume.
Which fits a solo freelancer
On the pages we read, the Zapier route is more concrete: a website, your own email, then training. Make asks for customer experience before you sign. If you have no past clients yet, the first step is not the application. It is getting your first projects. Start with how to become an n8n freelancer and find first clients, most of which applies to Make and Zapier too, and read first automation clients without Upwork.
Get ready in a weekend
A short list that works for both programs:
- Buy a domain and set up an email address on it.
- Put up a single page: who you help, what you build, your tools, one or two short project write-ups, a contact method.
- Write the project write-ups from real work. Describe the problem, what you built, and what you tested. Do not add numbers you cannot back up.
- Create accounts for the tool and start the free training if the program offers it.
- Read the current terms on the official page and note anything that says "may", "typically" or "tiers". Those parts decide what you get.
Reading the benefits correctly
A directory listing is a chance to be found, not a stream of clients. Programs like these are free to join in some cases, but a listing only helps if your profile gives a buyer a reason to pick you over the next one. Clients who arrive through a vendor's directory can also compare you with agencies. That is a different sales conversation than a referral from someone who knows you.
Also, a referral commission from the tool vendor is a small side benefit. It is separate from what you charge clients. If you plan to recommend a tool, say so openly to the client.
For how other programs split revenue and who owns the client, read white label and partner programs for freelancers.
If you want work without the sales side
Thomas Partners is a different kind of program. We find client work such as fixing broken automations and run it under your name. You keep 90% of the profit after documented costs are repaid. No profit, no fee. If you want to see how it works, you can apply here.
FAQ
Is the Zapier program free?
The page we read does not state a fee. Check the application page for current terms.
Can I join with a Gmail address?
Not for Zapier, per its eligibility list. Make's page we read does not state an email rule.
Do I need clients before applying to Make?
Make's FAQ says experience providing automation services is required to sign the partner agreement.
Does n8n have a similar program?
We did not research n8n's partner options for this guide.
Sources
- Zapier, Solution Partner Program: https://zapier.com/l/solution-partner
- Zapier blog, Announcing the Zapier Solution Partner Program (Jul 21, 2025): https://zapier.com/blog/solution-partner-program-launch/
- Zapier blog, A Closer Look at the Solution Partner Program (Nov 17, 2025): https://zapier.com/blog/closer-look-solution-partner-program/
- Make, Become a Make Solution Partner: https://www.make.com/en/solution-partners
Tell me what you build and who you build it for. It takes a few minutes.